Dialysis Technician Renewal Season has Closed.
If you did not renew your Dialysis Technician license by June 30 then your license has lapsed and you will need to fill out a Dialysis Tech Reinstatement Application. It is available at the following link:
Dialysis Technician Online Verification
To verify the West Virginia certification for a Dialysis Technician click on the following link:
You may then search the file by name or certification number. The system provides the name, city and state, certification number and whether or not the person has Disciplinary Action. If you have any questions please send them to email@example.com. Temporary Permits are designated with a "T" before the number. These persons have completed a training program and are ready to sit for a national certification exam. The temporary permit allows them to work while waiting to sit for this exam.
Dialysis Technician Law and Rules
The RN Board is responsible for regulating Dialysis Technicians. Registered nurses, dialysis technicians and those desiring to become dialysis technicians are encouraged to review the Dialysis Law
and Dialysis Rule
Application for Dialysis Technician in West Virginia
To work as a Dialysis Technician, certification in West Virginia is required. To submit an application, download the Dialysis Technician Application complete it, and send it to the Board office with the required fee. Additional information may be required. Please read below to determine which applicant category applies to you and provide the required documentation. Approved applicants will receive a certificate in the mail from the Board. A listing of certified Dialysis Technicians will be available online for review.
Endorsement applicants are individuals who have completed an educational program in another state and hold a credential or certification from another state or a national certifying body approved by the Board. Additional requirements must be provided to the Board including: 1) a certified copy of a certificate of completion of the education program;
2) completed state and federal criminal background check; 3) a verification of the credential or certification issued by another state; and, 4) a verification of the national dialysis technician certification or credential you hold from a Board approved certifying body. A 90 day temporary permit may be issued to an endorsement applicant.
Initial applicants are individuals who have completed an educational program from a Board approved Dialysis Technician Training Program and do NOT hold a credential or certification from another state, and do not hold a national certification from a Board approved certifying body. A Temporary Permit may be issued to the applicant. The Temporary Permit is valid until three (3) days after the exam results are known or 18 months whichever is sooner, unless the Board revokes the temporary permit prior to its expiration. A temporary permit may be renewed one time for an additional eighteen months from the renewal date unless the board revokes the temporary permit prior to its expiration, under the following circumstances: the national certification has lapsed, and a dialysis technician is required to work to qualify for recertification.
Reinstatement of Lapsed Certification
To reinstate a lapsed dialysis technician certification please download the reinstatement application, complete and send it to the Board with the required fee of $200.00.
We welcome your questions or comments relating to the Dialysis Technicians
. You may contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org
BOARD APPROVED TESTING ORGANIZATIONS FOR DIALYSIS TECHNICIANS
According to Title 19 Legislative Rule, West Virginia Board of Examiners for Registered Professional Nurses, Series 13 DIALYSIS TECHNICIANS, the following are board approved testing organizations: